St. Andrew’s Monastery.
Andreevskaya Embankment, 2.


St. Andrew’s Monastery was built in 1648 in the place of the monastery burned-out in 1547 (as the legend has it, the first convent was built here in the 13th century). The monastery was built on the right bank of the Moskva River near the present-day Vorobyovy Hills by the close adviser of the tsar Alexey Mikhailovich, the statesman F.M. Rtishchev who made a great contribution into the development of the culture. Having invited the learned monks from Kiev – Epiphanius (Slavinetsky), Arsenius (Satanovsky), Damascene (Ptitsky) and Theodosius (Safanovitch) – he founded the first school in Moscow (the so-called Rtishchev’s brotherhood) that preceded the Slavonic-Greek-Latin Academy. The monks of the learned brotherhood translated books in the foreign language into Russian. Initially, the monastery was called Preobrazhenskaya Pustyn’ (Hermitage of Transfiguration). In 1675 a stone, quadrangular single-domed over-the-gates church of Saint Martyr Andrew Stratelates was built (in the place of the wooden church having the same name and built in 1591 on the occasion of liberation of Moscow from the invasion of the Crimean khan Kazy-Girey on the fete of St. Andrew Stratelates). The monastery was given a name of St. Andrew’s monastery. In 1689—1701 Rtyshchev built a cathedral of Resurrection in Plennitsy in the style of Moscow baroque. In the 19th century it was rebuilt. The frieze made from large tiles by S. Polubes (end of the 18th century) survives to this day. In 1748 a three-level bell tower in classic style and a church of Michael the Archangel under it were built on S.B. Sheremetev’s money. In 1848 on the money of M. Sotkin this bell tower was rebuilt. In 1725 the monastery was closed and functioned as an orphan’s home till 1730. In 1730 the monastery resumed its work. In 1765 it was finally abolished, the churches became parish. In 1775 a female workhouse was established in the monastery.

In 1918 the alms-house was closed and handed over for apartments. In the same year the over-the-gates church of Saint Martyr Andrew Stratelates, in 1924 the cathedral of Resurrection and in 1940 the church of St. John the Evangelist were closed. Since the 1960-ies the monastery was the place of location of the research institute.

In the 1960 – 70-ies the buildings of the monastery were restored. In August 1991 the Patriarchal Metochion was established and a decision was taken to place the Synodal library of the Moscow Patriarch in the cloister.

In March 1992 divine services were resumed in the cathedral of Resurrection. In 1997 the belfry in the bell tower over the church of St. John the Evangelist was restored (10 bells, total weight is 6 tons made at the plant of Rudolf Perner in Passau, Germany).

Church of St. John the Evangelist.

Over-the-gates church of St. Martyr Andrew Stratelates.

Cathedral of the Resurrection.

Фотографии



← Предыдущая страница
Овчинниковский Средний переулок, 7.
Следующая страница →
Сретенка улица, 27/29, стр. 3.

Андреевский мужской монастырь.
Андреевская набережная, 2.

Андреевский мужской монастырь основан в 1648 на месте сгоревшего в 1547 (согласно преданию, первая обитель была здесь в XIII в.) на правом берегу р. Москвы (в районе современных Воробьевых гор) близким советником царя Алексея Михайловича, гос. деятелем Ф.М.Ртищевым, много сделавшим для развития культуры. Пригласив из Киева ученых монахов — Епифания (Славинецкого), Арсения (Сатановского), Дамаскина (Птицкого) и Феодосия (Сафановича), организовал первую в Москве школу (т.н. Ртищевское братство), предшественницу Славяно-Греко-Латинской академии. Монахи ученого братства переводили на русский язык иностранные книги. Первоначально монастырь назывался Преображенской пустынью. В 1675 coopужён каменный надвратный четырехугольный, однокупольный храм святого мученика Андрея Стратилата (на месте одноименного деревянного 1591, построенного по случаю избавления Москвы от нашествия крымского хана Казы-Гирея в день памяти святого Андрея Стратилата) и монастырь стал называться Андреевским. До 1764 в храме были приделы святого Феодора Стратилата (по тезоименитству Ф. М. Ртищева) и апостола Андрея Первозванного. В 1689—1701 Ртищевым в стиле московского барокко построен соборный храм Воскресения Христова в Пленницах (в излучине Москва-реки, около монастыря, сплавлявшиеся по реке бревна складывались в плоты — пленницы или поленницы). Перестроен в XIX в. До наших дней сохранился фриз из крупных изразцов мастера С. Полубеса (кон. XVIII в.). В 1748 на средства гр. С. Б. Шереметева coopужён в классическом стиле трехъярусная колокольня с храмом архангела Михаила под ней (перестроена в 1848 на средства М. Соткина и переосвещена во имя апостола Иоанна Богослова). В 1725 монастырь закрыт и функционировал до 1730 как заведение для приема и содержания подкидышей и беспризорных детей (прообраз Воспитательного дома). В 1730 возобновлен. В 1765 окончательно упразднён, храмы обращены в приходские. В 1775 учрежден женский воспитательный работный дом. На месте обветшавших стен монастыря построен восточный корпус богадельни, северный корпус — сер. XIX в., южный — 1878 (до 1 тыс. человек). В 1900 при храме Воскресения открыта церковно-приходская школа.

В 1918 богадельня закрыта и передана под жилье. В том же году закрыт надвратный храм святого мученика Андрея Стратилата, в 1924 — Воскресения Христова, ок. 1940 — апостола Иоанна Богослова. С 1960-х в монастыре размешался научно-исследовательский институт.

В 1960—70-х здания монастыря реставрировались. В августе 1991 образовано Патриаршее подворье и принято решение о размещении в обители Синодальной библиотеки Московского Патриархата.

С марта 1992 возобновлены богослужения в храме Воскресения Христова, в 1997 восстановлена звонница в колокольне над храмом апостола Иоанна Богослова (10 колоколов общим весом 6 т. изготовлены на заводе Рудольфа Пернера в Пассау, Германия).

Комплекс бывшего Андреевского монастыря возвращен РПЦ.

Святыни — особо чтимая Казанская икона Пресвятой Богородицы (в центральной части храма Воскресения Христова, к сев. от алтаря), скульптурное деревянное распятие (XIX в.; возвращено 14.11.1995 музеем «Новый Иерусалим»). Проводятся церковные чтения, есть баптистерий для крещения взрослых, общеобразовательная школа, мастерские по изготовлению церковной утвари.

Святого Мученика Андрея Стратилата надвратный храм.

Апостола Иоанна Богослова храм.

Воскресенья Христова храм.

Добавить фото Редактировать страницу

Андреевский монастырь
Андреевский монастырь
Андреевский монастырь
Андреевский мужской монастырь.
Андреевский мужской монастырь.
Андреевский мужской монастырь.